Paying it Forward – I’m in

“I’m in” is how I responded to the below Facebook post the beginning of this year.  It seems to be a positive way to start out the new year.  Doing something nice for someone else.  I got my five responses fairly quickly.  Two of them are local.  Two from out of town and one from out of the country.  I’ve finished two projects, one for a local lady and one of the out of town ones.

IMG_2748  IMG_2747  I made expandable book bags for two of my “I’m in’s”.  I have a third one almost done.  I love to make things and I’ve never needed to be prompted or have to sign up for something to want to make anything for anyone.  This just seemed like a fun way to start out 2015.  Perhaps continuing this web of kindness will catch on.   Treating others with respect and dignity, a great concept.

As for the person who is out of the country I am still thinking about.  I’ve yet to receive my Pay It Forward gift.  Mine is coming from California.  I’m sure it will arrive at the absolute perfect time.

“Dear Friends, I’m participating in the ‘Pay it Forward’ initiative: The first five people who comment on this status with “I’m in” will receive a surprise from me at some point during the year – anything from a book, a ticket, something home-grown, homemade, a postcard, absolutely any surprise! There will be no warning and it will happen when the mood comes over me and I find something that I believe would suit you and make you happy. These five people must make the same offer on their Facebook status. Once my first five have commented “I’m in” I will forward this message to you privately, so that you can copy and paste it, and put it on your status, (don’t share it) so that we can form a web of connection of kindness. Let’s do more nice and loving things in 2015, without any reason other than to make each other smile and show that we think of each other. Here’s to a more enjoyable and friendly, and love filled year.”

Today this beautiful girl is 10.  IMG_2985  The book she is looking at is a journal I put together for her.  It is filled with those “Mighty Girl” sayings and words of wisdom on how to live strong and secure.  Girls have such self-esteem issues, maybe more-so than they did when I was growing up.  I want her to be a risk taker and push limits and boundaries but remain kind, caring, loving and giving.  I believe this is possible.  She has huge potential.

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

