Every Day is a Gift We’ve Been Given. Life lessons

“Every day is a bank account, time is our currency. No one’s rich, nobody’s poor. We get 24 hours each. So how are you going to spend? Will you invest or squander? Try to get ahead or help someone who’s under?
Teach us to count the days. Teach us to make the days count. Lead us in better ways. Somehow our souls forgot. Life means so much.” Chris Rice, Life Means So Much from Smell the Color 9.

The lyrics of this song bring to my mind the Golden Rule. 

“Do unto others what you would have them do unto you,” a staple of most religious traditions, is a philosophy known as the golden rule.””   It’s fascinating the different interpretations this has.

“Sometimes it is cast in the negative:

Buddhism: Hurt not others in ways that you yourself would find hurtful (Udanavarga).

Confucianism: Do not unto others what you would not have them do unto you (Analects 15:2).

Hinduism: Do naught unto others [that] which would cause you pain if done to you (Mahabharata 5:1517).

Judaism: That which is hateful unto you, do not impose on others (Talmud, Shabbat 31a).

Other times it is put in positive terms:

Christianity: As you wish that men would do to you, do so to them (Luke 6:13).

Islam: No one of you is a believer until he desires for his brother that which he desires for himself (Sunan).”

I rediscovered Chris Rice’s song a few weeks ago cleaning up my quilt room. I love playing music while I work and I found the cd this song was on. I can’t get the words out of my head. They are actually great words to live by. Everyone getting 24 hours each day really puts things in perspective for me. Instead of always feeling a lack there of, I can start each day knowing everyone else has the same amount of time and what will I do with this time?  As we grow older we have less time and there are regrets that so much of our lives have been wasted. There’s no time like the present to reevaluate how your time can be better spent.

Another thought I’ve been pondering is just what does God want from me regarding Pardon My Bag? What can I do different or better? I feel He is expecting something other than just making these bags and hope they sell. My therapist had an awesome idea that I provide some of my bags to a women’s shelter to have for job interviews or just have something nice they couldn’t otherwise afford. I think that is a great idea and I plan to put this to use in the Against Abuse House that is being built in my community.

I have been working towards several ideas my nephew helped me with.  I now have a business license.  I’ve applied for a marketing student from the business school to help me get my site out there.  A few of my students have agreed to have their pictures taken with the handbags for the site.  So there are several irons in this fire.  I realize everything takes time and being that I’ve never been a patient person it has been hard to wait.

My daughter-in-law is working hard on giving Pardon My Bag a facelift.  We are trying to make it more user friendly and I am learning to take better pictures outside to get more detail of the fabric and the bags as a whole.

zipperpullsShiela made these great tags with my logo from her Crafty Caps collections.   She is so very clever.  I simply love these.  I hope to put one on each new bag as they are created.

So with all of these ideas put to and being put to use it should be a productive summer.  I’m so grateful I have an indoor passion which helps to keep me out of the blazing hot temperatures that are arriving with a vengeance and will most likely last until mid September.

Here is the youtube video of aforementioned song.   Enjoy

 

Leave a Reply

